The Christmas garden, December 17th, 2014

This is really the bleakest time of year for the garden, and any flower is pounced on by me and Polly with cries of delight. The snowdrops are all pushing up, and some are actually flowering in the KLIMT border. The rose ‘Ghislaine de Feligonde’ is still flowering, and you can make a little nosegay with the snowdrops, Ghislaine de Feligonde, and Sorbus Vilmorinii which has survived the scavenging birds and is the most beautiful shade of pale pink. Extraordinary, the way the birds leave that one alone.

We are besieged by wildlife. None of which Polly and I are at all keen on. The moles have been so bad that we have turned to a professional catcher, who has so far made three visits, and caught seven moles. He is the kind of countryman that is a delight to have wandering round ones garden. He said to Polly that he has to be in the mood, or otherwise he might as well go home. They have been coming up in the beds near the house, creating havoc. The other thing which is worse, or on a par, are the badgers. They have been getting in under our boundary fence and making the most awful mess. Again we have had to resort to professionals. Neil is digging a deep trench, in which we are sinking a tough wire grille, and Polly is doing the backfilling, I rang her up and said ‘why are you panting’ and was not surprised when she told me. We are lucky that so far they have not settled in the main lawn. I have not mentioned the foxes, but they have not forgotten us.

All the tulips have gone in. Avon Bulbs did a 50% discount on some of their bulbs, which needless to say I could not resist. Their telephone lines were completely jammed at the beginning of last week, apparently everyone had had the same idea as me. Their tulip bulbs are huge, and they have the best taste in the plants they chose to sell. I have over ordered Tulip
‘Ballerina’, so some of them have to go across the lawn, in the Euphorbia ‘Fern Cottage’ border.

I have been asked to give a lecture on my garden, which I have never done before, for a garden club which is ten miles away from us. The organiser said they were a friendly bunch, I do hope so. It is not until May, so I have plenty of time to prepare. Later on this week I have my two grandsons staying, which will make Christmas for me.

2 thoughts on “The Christmas garden, December 17th, 2014

  1. Lovely to hear of your Christmas plans. Sorry about the moles and badgers – the moles and rabbits have vanished from my garden but the badgers are visiting and my thermal camera shows. so far, an elderly one lumbering by, but the mess every morning suggests more than one! Hey! Ho! Who would leave bordering the countryside?
    Wish you and Polly a lovely Christmas and a happy and healthy and full of gardening New Year!
    Kind regards,
    Trisha.

  2. It is so special to have your grandsons with you for Christmas. Enjoy that time with them.

    I am sure that the garden club members are friendly. But I can’t believe that this is the first time you have given a lecture on your garden! It won’t be your last.

    You are very lucky to still have roses, and the snowdrops. I won’t see any sign of life again until very late March. The count down has begun. My books will have to do in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

