Spending a winter weekend with Philip and Martha Gwyn at Dean House, Hampshire, 5th December.

Saturday was a beautiful winters day, and I found myself walking round the garden, and it was probably the first time I had looked at it properly for quite some time.     I remember well when Philip first bought Dean and it must have been almost 40 years ago.       I now find it rather Italian, with a lot of yew repetition of various shapes,  interesting evergreens outside the drawing room, and the walled vegetable garden in particular was charming with a lot of box balls and a couple of garden ornaments.      Together with a very beautiful house,  and immaculately kept everywhere,  it was very interesting to walk round.     Almost my favourite was a little Hansel and Gretel type house in the walled garden, with strings of onions hanging outside.      The credit for the design goes to the owner Philip Gwyn, and head gardener Julian Blackwell, supported by a lot of hard work from Bill Davies, and Kate Matthew.      I am already looking forward to seeing it in summer, and I saw one evergreen that I used to grow called Prostanthera Cuneata , it has a delicious smell to the leaf, maybe we should grow it again if I could find the right place for it.      I heard from Philip that it was voted the most popular garden in Hampshire to visit, and I am not at all surprised.

One thought on “Spending a winter weekend with Philip and Martha Gwyn at Dean House, Hampshire, 5th December.

  1. What a magical place. Loved the pictures and deeply in love with the house! x

    From: Pettifers Garden Blog <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Pettifers Garden Blog <comment+pi4bj8ysd2ewsdixig7ulbq@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Tuesday, 6 December 2016 14:13 To: anna Harvey <annaharvey2015@outlook.com> Subject: [New post] Spending a winter weekend with Philip and Martha Gwyn at Dean House, Hampshire, 5th December.

    virginiaprice12 posted: “Saturday was a beautiful winters day, and I found myself walking round the garden, and it was probably the first time I had looked at it properly for quite some time. I remember well when Philip first bought Dean and it must have been almost”

Leave a Reply

